My Recent Reads

Finding Audrey, Sophie Kinsella

I’ve alwblog-finding audreyays been a fan of Sophie Kinsella, so I was really excited to hear that she had written her first YA book. Without giving away the story, Finding Audrey is about a young girl with social anxiety. She struggles to leave the house and take off her dark glasses, until she meets her brother’s friend, Linus.

I really enjoyed reading Finding Audrey, and it opened my eyes up to mental health issues in a really positive way. I love the way that Sophie has written Finding Audrey; its very easy to read and, once I started reading, I couldn’t put it down. It’s one of those books where you want to find out what happens in the end, but you don’t want to finish it!

I’d definitely recommend this book to anyone who may be struggling with, or wanting to find out about, mental health issues, and anyone that enjoys reading young adult fiction. Finding Audrey definitely makes it into one of my all time favourite books 🙂


Paper Towns, John Green

Before reading Paper Towns, I’d never read any novels by John Green, so blog-paper townsafter all of the great reviews that I’d heard, I was excited to read his books.

Paper Towns is a love and ‘adventure’ story; when Margo doesn’t turn up to school after a all night adventure with narrator Quentin, Q must find all of the clues that lead to Margo and let him find out who she really is. I love the plot of Paper Towns and some of the quotes in there by Green are really sweet. The fact that he uses a ‘not-your-average’ love story to enable both Q and Margo to find out who they really are made me love the story even more.


All the Bright Places, Jennifer Niven

blog-all the bright placesI wanted to read this after Zoella put it in her June favourites video last year, as she recommended it to all of her viewers and later put it in the Zoella Book Club. All the Bright Places is told from the perspectives of Finch and Violet, who meet at school, at the top of the bell tower. Finch is constantly dreaming about dying and taking his own life, whilst Violet is struggling with the death of her sister. It’s a story based around mental heath and raises awareness of serious issues, in a very relatable and accessible way.

This is honestly one of the most emotional and engaging books I’ve ever read. I love the way that Jennifer Niven writes; her words in this book seem so beautiful and melodic. The way that she tells such a sad, yet beautiful story is incredible and the perfect YA book. Again, it’s a book that’s made its way into my all time favourites and I’m excited to read more novels by Jennifer.

– – ‘A reader lives a thousand lives, whilst the man who never reads lives only one’

4 thoughts on “My Recent Reads

  1. I had no idea that Sophie Kinsella wrote a YA book, I’m so excited to read it thank you so much for blogging about it you have no idea. Also, I loved paper towns the book it’s probably my favourite by John Green alongside the Fault in our stars obviously. And I recently read all the bright places and loved every minute of it I couldn’t put it down. Jennifer Niven has another book coming out I think. Zoella read it on holiday but I’m not sure I think it’s called holding up the universe or something but again very excited to read that too. Sorry for my long boom ramble but it’s not very often someone blogs about the books I’m interested in haha.

    If you have the time I’d appreciate it if you checked out my post https://sophiesamantha.wordpress.com/2016/07/31/july-favourites-2016/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw thank you, that means a lot! You’re so welcome; you should definitely read Finding Audrey – it’s just so good. Yes, I’ve heard of Holding up the Universe by Jennifer Niven and can’t wait to read it! I’ll be sure to let you know my thoughts on it once I have! I’m so glad you like this post and that you found it useful; I think I’ll be making my Recent Reads post a regular thing, so hopefully my next one will appeal to you too! xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

