Recent Reads

Fangirl, Rainbow Rowell 

books2.jpgI was excited to read Fangirl after seeing it in the WHSmith’s Zoella Book Club. It follows Cath and Wren, identical twin sisters, as they leave home for university. They both have very different personalities and take to university life in completely different ways. It’s a story of growing up, fanfiction and, of course, love.

The thing I loved most about Fangirl was the narrative writing style. It’s written in 3rd person, but is through the perspective of Cath, which I think makes the novel really clever and much more intriguing to read. I also loved being able to relate to the storyline. Whilst I don’t write fanfiction, I understand what it’s like to be passionate about something and to want to incorporate that passion into my everyday life. Cath and Wren are at similar stages in their lives to myself, so I really enjoyed reading their stories, for that reason.

Even talking about them here, almost as if they were real, you can see that I found the characters really likeable. I especially like the bond that’s formed between Cath, Levi and Reagan, as its not your typical ‘friendship’ story.


I Knew You Were Trouble, Paige Toonbooks.jpg

I only found out after reading I Knew You Were Trouble that its actually the 2nd book to the Jessie Jefferson collection! So I don’t want to give too much of the plot away, because it will inevitably contain spoilers for the 1st novel.

However, I found I knew You Were Trouble to be a really light and easy to read story, with a plot that offers escapism; a perfect summer read! I found it easy to engage with the plot and understand each of the characters. Jessie, the protagonist, is definitely likeable and I only wish that I’d have discovered the 1st book before this one, so that I could have got involved with her journey a little more!


Everyday, David Levithan

books4.jpgEveryday follows A who, whilst is still himself, wakes up in a different body each day. It is only when he meets Rhiannon, after living in the body of her boyfriend, that he begins to open up about his life, and wants to form more personal relationships.

I absoloutely love the way that David Levithan writes in this book. I think his writing style is so eloquent, that some of his words really made me think about certain concepts, and often stayed with me long after I’d put the book down. The storyline he has chosen for this book really intrigued me, as its something so different to everything else that’s out there. I also really liked A, the main character, as his personality and words appeared to be so genuine and pragmatic.

After reading Everyday, I cannot wait to read more of David Levithan’s books, as I’m sure they too will live up to the quality of Everyday.


– – ‘We lose ourselves in books, and we find ourselves there too’

Leave a Reply

